There And Draft Again

A Fellowship of Fantasy Writers

Writerly Tools: Editing Edition February 22, 2013

Filed under: Writing — thereanddraftagain @ 4:44 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

Here at There & Draft Again, we’ve gone over lots of helpful tips and tools you can use when writing your novel. World-building resources. Thesauruses to help expand your prose a bit. Building characters. POV. But what if you’re past all of that? What if you’ve already written your first, even your second or third draft of your manuscript?

Well, first of all, let’s start by saying:

congrats

You’ve finished writing a book! Time to publish!

Wait, that’s not what I meant at all. What I really meant was that you are, as most people say, halfway through the battle. In reality, I think it is more like 1/4 of the way but who am I to nitpick?

The point, of course, is you have a long journey ahead of you filled with editing, beta readers, crit partners, etc. All of which you will need to get your manuscript shiny enough to send off to an agent or publisher. In this edition of Writerly Tools, we will be discussing editing with advice as well as tools you can use.

First piece of advice: Never submit a first draft to anything besides a beta reader or crit partner. First drafts are just that–first drafts. The harsh reality is there is a lot more work that goes into being a writer than the fun parts like developing characters, world-building, etc.

writers2

In fact, sometimes it can feel like a full-time job after the first draft is done. So what do you do? Where do you start? Well, with some nifty tools of course. We’ve already touched on this, but a thesaurus is really your best friend when it comes to editing. We all have our favorite words in our ever-expanding vocabularies, but you want to make sure that doesn’t show too much in your manuscript. If you want to get down to the nitty-gritty of editing, you can try these three tools:

1. Wordle: This is a word map of your manuscript. I have not been able to get it to successfully work for me, but other people have and speak very highly of it. Basically, you plug in your manuscript/chapter and Wordle will create word maps, or word clouds, of your piece. The bigger words are the most used, which tells you that you need to narrow down the usage a smidge (or more if you are like me and love it when characters purse their lips). Best part: It’s free! Worth a shot!

2. Autocrit: Oh, how can I sing thy praise, Autocrit.com? Not only do you offer a free preview by allowing authors to paste 700 words into your wizard and spit out some interesting bits (like overused words, for example), but for a fairly decent price you can subscribe for a year and get access to even more tools like cliches and redundancies, pronoun usage, and many more. I got the Platinum membership for $77 a year and I definitely recommend it, especially for editing novices like me. The process of editing can be overwhelming and this definitely has some good pointers as to where to start and helps you develop an eye for mistakes.

3. MyWriterTools Editor Edition: I can’t say too much about this because I don’t have it myself, but it does look appealing. It seems to be a plugin for Microsoft Word and creates checklists for writing, proofreading, and editing for you. If I am reading the site correctly, the program also creates your very own style sheet. This is definitely on my “want” list, but since I just got Autocrit and this program is $49.99 ($29.99 introductory price) and I am still learning about it, it will have to wait. Have you used this program before? Sound off in the comments!

I know not all of us can afford editors, but sometimes these programs might help offset editing costs while making your manuscript stand out as something, well, not riddle with errors. It might be worth the investment if you find yourself in the position to make it.

What are some of your tips and tricks of the editing trade? Tell us what you use and what you think of the recommendations!

Mara Valderran
 

4 Responses to “Writerly Tools: Editing Edition”

  1. kathils Says:

    Interesting, Mara. I haven’t heard of any of those. I recently did a search in a short story I wrote, because the dear editor pointed out there was “a lot of head cocking going on.” Wow. In 8k I had more head cocking than heads doing it! Funny how you just slip into those phrases without realizing it.

  2. brsanders Says:

    Reblogged this on Clatter & Clank and commented:
    super useful!

  3. Hmm am not sure what’s going on with Wordle – I had great fun with it a few years ago, but couldn’t make it work this afternoon either. And autocrit is on my want list ever since I read a post you wrote a while ago, but I’m afraid at the moment I’m just using good old fashioned editing lists fashioned to my own writing weaknesses. Might be a different story when I start editing the whole novel though. I agree best to have it in the best shape possible before passing on to an editor!

  4. jessicaminyard Says:

    I’ve used Wordle before for a WIP. Apparently I had a lot of characters doing things with their eyes.


Leave a Reply

