There And Draft Again

A Fellowship of Fantasy Writers

Dark Fantasy: My Literary Sweet Spot September 7, 2013

We all have our sweet spots in literature, that special genre or subgenre that feeds our soul and makes us drive clear across town to our local bookstore (even though we hate getting out of the house) and spend money we don’t really have because we can’t go another day without a certain book. And I mean a physical, in your hand, book.

Mine is dark fantasy. Why? It’s all because of Stephen King.

I love elements of horror in my fantasy. I crave them, like I crave my morning coffee or the beach. I don’t feel complete without them. Stephen King woke the shadows in my imagination, and they’ve never gone back to sleep. I’ve read everything of his, and second to It, The Dark Tower series is my favorite. I’m always looking for books that will give me the same elation, terror, and excitement that series evoked.

While some of these may seem vastly different than the Tower series, here are some dark fantasy novels and series I truly love:

Neverwhere and Coraline by Neil Gaiman

The Child Thief by Brom

A Modern Faerie Tale series by Holly Black

The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff

The Darkangel Trilogy by Meredith Ann Pierce

Of course, these are just a handful, and I’ve read just about every book by each of these authors, but it’s a start if you’ve never read dark fantasy and want to give it a try.

This week, I’ll be reading Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea by April Genevieve Tucholke and The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black. And in case you’re wondering, I will drive to the bookstore to purchase Doctor Sleep.

Happy reading!

Kate

 

2 Responses to “Dark Fantasy: My Literary Sweet Spot”

  1. I’m a fan of this genre too. When I wrote an epic fantasy with a dark theme (the murder of children, generation after generation, in the same village) I had to decide whether or not to go with the horror elements. I chose not to. There are dark moments throughout, but it is a relatively light book given the theme. We’ll see if that works!
    But for me, it was also Stephen King.

  2. devenluca Says:

    I love dark fantasy. My favorite has to be the Last Apprentice series and the new book is coming out soon. I am Alice.


Leave a Reply

