There And Draft Again

A Fellowship of Fantasy Writers

What would fantasy writers do without Pinterest?! October 10, 2013

Filed under: Inspiration,Writing — thereanddraftagain @ 12:52 am
Tags: , , ,

Quick note: I know I said I would blog about Line Editing, but I decided to wait until next month after I’ve finished doing line edits on my second novel. Stay tuned!

I just had to take a moment to talk about one of the lovely places all of us fantasy writers go when we’re low on inspiration, waiting for a reply from someone and our thumbs just aren’t busy, or (dare I say it?) procrastinating. But here’s the wonderful thing about it: if I’m hiding from work, waiting for something, or just having a downer, Pinterest almost always takes me back to that writing zone. I don’t know how it does this, but without fail there will be a perfect little piece of art that will grab me and instantly transport me to another world. My brain starts working creatively as soon as I catch my breath of awe. Emotions evoked send me to my story zone and DUDE, I AM THERE.

What do I pin? Well, it can be anything from a scene that captures the feelings in my story, such as this:

Marina by Guily ^^ on Flickr. http://www.flickr.com/photos/giulia_tamas/

to a moody image that describes a scene:

to a moment that provokes all kinds of feels:

By smoothdude on Flickr

to a snapshot of a character that describes them so perfectly, I can’t even:

via weheartit.com

Fantasy authors such as Susan Dennard and Sarah J. Maas use Pinterest all the time, especially because it’s great for worldbuilding. Little snippets that remind us of our worlds can be easily arranged in a symphonic manner to instantly immerse just by revisiting a board. (I know the There and Draft Again ladies are on Pinterest quite often, because I follow them and they post awesomeness!)

For me, Pinterest has the same squeal-factor as watching my favorite movies, only it takes less than a minute to scroll through a board I’ve made or find a few pins from a friend who inspires me. Yep, I’m here today to hook you on another form of social media. To convince you it belongs in a fantasy writer’s toolbox. You’re probably in desperate need of it and don’t know it yet. WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR?!

And, if you’d like to, feel free to share your Pinterest handle in the comments so fellow fantasy writers can follow and be inspired by what YOU are inspired by. 🙂

–Rachel O’Laughlin

Final Note: Another great thing about Pinterest is that — like Tumblr — it does a great job of maintaining the trail of creation. Artists get credit for their work wherever it is repinned. All pictures in this post are linked directly to their original pins, where you’ll find links to the original content.

 

5 Responses to “What would fantasy writers do without Pinterest?!”

  1. Alex Hurst Says:

    I need to go over to Pinterest and clean up my boards, but I totally agree! My handle is “alexhurstpins”. 😀 (I’ve actually saved two of those images to my computer a long time ago… thanks for helping me track down the source!)

  2. You know I love Pinterest, right? It’s addicting … and I love saving all these images that beg to be written!

  3. hansales1088 Says:

    I totally agree love this post!

  4. kathils Says:

    Okay, okay, someone is trying to tell me something. *sigh* Lately I’ve been wondering about utilizing Pinterest but . . . TIME!!!!! Lately, this post included, I have come across several comments, posts, fingers, pointing me at Pinterest as a great author’s tool. I may just have to give in . . .

  5. Gorgeous pictures. I use Pinterest for tips, recipes, and inspiration. The problem is it’s a big time sucker. However, I have noticed more and more writers creating boards for their books and works in progress.


Leave a Reply

