There And Draft Again

A Fellowship of Fantasy Writers

More Fantasy Please January 11, 2014

I read through Fantasy-Faction’s Best Fantasy Books of 2013 yesterday, and realized the number of fantasy books I didn’t read in 2013. I read 106 novels total, most of which were horror, paranormal romance, and contemporary, with a few literary sprinkled in for good measure. As fantasy is my #1 genre, this shocked me.

And then I asked myself why I’d avoided the fantasy books on my TBR list, and I think it’s this: I didn’t want the story I’m writing influenced by others. The ms I’m currently working on has given me way more trouble than my previous one. This one is epic fantasy, filled with action, mythical re-tellings, battles, you name it. I’ve struggled with plot, direction, plot, and more plot. I know what the end looks like, but getting there has been one hell of a journey.

I think I feared reading fantasy because I feared I’d take the easy route and structure mine based on what worked for others. Reading outside my genre while writing is something I’ve always done, for various reasons, but never to this extreme. And now that I’ve passed a number of hurdles, and the end of my ms is truly in sight—Jan. 28th is my deadline for this draft—I’m looking forward to catching up on my fantasy reads. The first of which is Prince of Thorns by Mark Lawrence.

us_prince

Happy reading! Kate

 

4 Responses to “More Fantasy Please”

  1. I just don’t read enough, period. I sometimes have similar worries about reading fantasy while writing it, but I think, for me at least, it might all be in my head. I guess all I can do is give it a try. 🙂 Especially because I don’t intend for there to be very much time in my life when I’m not writing it.

  2. More than 100 novels Well done. I’ve been jonesing for some horror.

  3. kathils Says:

    I’ll be curious to find out what you think about Prince of Thorns. I won’t give you my thoughts until your done…wouldn’t want to color your perceptions at all.

  4. Sometimes when the writing has been particularly difficult, I’ll also avoid fantasy. Usually because I’m having a bit of a pip and don’t want to see how brilliantly other people, who can actually write, do the business. Although to be contrary, usually great fantasy really inspires me to push in. I’d also be keen to see what you think about Prince of Thorns. I bought it over a year ago and just haven’t felt inspired to give it time yet.. It always felt a bit dark when I started.


Leave a Reply

