There And Draft Again

A Fellowship of Fantasy Writers

As You Wish: A Post to Honor “The Princess Bride” February 12, 2014

The Princess Bride is my favorite book in all the world, though I have never read it. Well, I’ve read the first chapter. But, I’ve watched the movie a gaziliion billion times and it never gets old.

Why?

Well, a fantastic screenplay and cast doesn’t hurt, but really, it’s because William Goldman is an exceptional abridger. I mean, he wrote all the best parts: fencing and fighting, torture, poison, true love, hate, revenge, giants, hunters, bad men, good men, beautifulest ladies, snakes, spiders, pain, death, brave men, cowardly men, strongest men, chases, escapes, lies, truths, passion, and miracles.The Princess Bride, when all is said and done, is a classic tale of true love and high adventure. Even the great Florinese writer, the immortal S. Morgenstern, called it such.

Anyway, while I had fun storming the castle the other day, I came across this photo:

the-princess-bride_900

Inconceivable! The movie is twenty five years old?!? Yep. This is Entertainment Weekly’s reunion photo. The New York Film Festival celebrated the film’s 25th anniversary with a cast reunion at Lincoln Center. You can read all about it here. I did. And then, of course, I watched the movie again. I also downloaded the book; I’m going to read it this weekend for relax.

So, if you’ve never seen the movie, or read the book, I suggest you do so immediately. You’ll at least learn how to fill out your name tag properly. You might even fall in love. You think I’m teasing you? I’m not. The Princess Bride the best thing in the world. Well, except for cough drops.

So, good night readers, and movie watchers. Good work. Sleep well. I’ll most likely kill you in the morning.

Kate

 

8 Responses to “As You Wish: A Post to Honor “The Princess Bride””

  1. Kate Michael Says:

    So apparently I’m late to the party, as the 25th anniversary happened some time ago. Haha!!

  2. I judge people’s character by how they react to the question, “Did you like the Princess Bride?” If they liked it, A+, normal person. If they DIDN’T like it … well, that’s when I have to start the cross-examination and figure out if they’re really a psychopath, or if they just have a random yet forgivable reason for not loving the greatest movie of all time.

  3. N. E. White Says:

    One of my very favorite films! And the book is pretty good, too. 🙂

  4. Ellie Says:

    Aaaaw I looove love love this movie. I’m with the it’s “my favorite book in all the world, though I have never read it. ” lol. I’ve SEEN it enough times…. maybe I should take a whack at reading it as well.

  5. I adore this movie – and not just because I am afraid of Michelle P. It is stuffed full of one-liners that will endure until my grave yawns wide.
    Never go in against a Sicilian when death is on the line!
    Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha! Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha! Ha ha ha –

  6. This book is actually on my Good Reads list this year. I just need to find it.

  7. Loved the movie. In Library Time at primary school (’95 I think), the school sports coach came in and told everyone that they MUST watch this movie that is on at this time this week. Didn’t think much of it, until I found out it has Andre The Giant in it. Being a life-long wrestling fan, was sold right there and informed the parents. Family favourite, especially the Inigo/DPR sword fight.

    Much later, saw the book and bought it for my sister’s birthday. Loved the book, so I borrowed it after she had read it. Came perilously close to beating the movie in awesomeness. How Buttercup became the Most Beautiful Lady In The Land was the the funniest thing I had read in forever!


Leave a Reply

