There And Draft Again

A Fellowship of Fantasy Writers

Forever Neverland March 8, 2014

Filed under: Inspiration,Reading — thereanddraftagain @ 7:54 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

As a child, Neverland was my ultimate vacation destination. I remember wanting to go so bad my chest actually ached from it. I dreamed of Neverland on a regular basis, and watched the Disney movie until the tape (yeah, VHS all the way) wore out and we had to buy a new one.

And Peter…Well, my childhood crush hasn’t ever really faded, from my heart or my mind.

So, here I am, all grown up with children of my own, and still I dream of Neverland. Anything to do with it, whether a movie or clever re-telling, grabs my attention.

Finding Neverland is brilliant and heartwarming, and reminds me of the power of imagination.

findingneverland

My absolute favorite re-telling is THE CHILD THIEF by Brom. Dark and twisted, this beautifully gruesome book is not for the faint of heart.

the child thief

And I can’t wait to add this to my collection: HOOK’S REVENGE by Heidi Schulz.

hooks revenge

One day I’ll visit Neverland, and hopefully I’ll see one or two of you while I’m there.

Kate

 

2 Responses to “Forever Neverland”

  1. deshipley Says:

    I think my fave retelling was “Peter and the Starcatchers”. And I still get a romantic sense of nostalgia listening to the song introduced in the Disney classic, “The Second Star to the Right”. I’m not sure a Peter Pan crush is something we ever grow out of. (:

  2. djgarcia94 Says:

    There needs to be a retelling that totally calls out the Disney version for its blatant racism.


Leave a Reply

