There And Draft Again

A Fellowship of Fantasy Writers

Pin-ups March 29, 2014

Filed under: Writing — thereanddraftagain @ 6:00 am
Tags: , , , , ,

I’m notorious for letting band-wagons pass by. I stubbornly refuse to join in just because something is popular. Facebook is a perfect example of that. I went in kicking and screaming; only joining because most of my family had defected from our Yahoo Group List, and it seemed if I wanted to keep abreast of things, I needed to be on Facebook. Oh, but the grumbling that took place.

I now have three Facebook personas. *head, desk*

When Pinterest came around, I turned my nose up. Yes, I can be a snob. What a frivolous waste of time it seemed to be. I needed nothing to do with it.

A while back…I succumbed. And, I’m big enough to admit, I was wrong about Pinterest. I’m a visual person. Pinterest has become a giant corkboard for me. A place to stash bits of things I want to remember, or keep track of. More importantly, I can see how it is becoming a tool for my writing. All those little things I scrawled on post-it notes, all those links I write down and then lose, images that inspire scenes, characters or places…they are no longer lost in piles of papers, stuck somewhere in the back of my head, or otherwise scattered to the winds. They are organized on boards that I can access at any time from any where. I figured I would post things and forget about them, never checking them, never using them as reference.

Again. I was wrong.

More importantly, I’m hoping to use Pinterest and my writing boards to connect with my readers. No, I haven’t figured out how exactly. Not entirely. I have some ideas rolling around in the grey matter. One thing would be to invite readers to send me images that they connect with my books. How they see the characters, or the world around them. Maybe bits of music that remind them of a certain scene. That’s something I’m working on. I’m sure it will evolve.

One of the nicest things about Pinterest is that it’s quick. Especially with the aps available. I see something I want to pin, and in a few clicks, done. I like that. Simple, effective, visual, easy to share, easy to keep private if I choose.

So, how many Pinterest users out there? What do you use it for? Do you actively follow other people’s boards? What are some creative ways you seen it use to connect with others?

~ K. L. Schwengel

 

4 Responses to “Pin-ups”

  1. Kate Michael Says:

    Hi! I LUUUURRRVE Pinterest. I just followed your boards, lol =)

  2. Alex Hurst Says:

    I’m on Pinterest! It’s great for pinning inspirational images for current WIPs, or pinning the artwork of the book cover artists I’ve interviewed. For people who need a visual hook, Pinterest is the best. 🙂

    Alex Hurst, fantasy author in Japan, participating in Blogging A-Z April Challenge.

    • kathils Says:

      I really never thought it would be as useful as it’s become. I actually referenced it three times yesterday.


Leave a Reply

