There And Draft Again

A Fellowship of Fantasy Writers

Book Recommendations: Writing Craft April 19, 2014

Filed under: Writing — thereanddraftagain @ 9:34 am
Tags: , ,

Hi everyone!

Today we decided to share with you our favorite books on the writing craft!

Kate recommends: ON WRITING by Stephen King

on-writing

” It’s part autobiography and part advice on the craft. My copy is dog-eared, highlighted, and full of notes in the margins. It’s encouraging, especially during my bouts of massive self doubt, honest, and at times laugh-out-loud hilarious. I’d recommend it to any writer regardless of where they are in their writing journey.”

Rachel recommends: NO PLOT? NO PROBLEM! by NaNoWriMo’s founder Chris Baty

no-plot-no-problem

“I have lots of books on writing craft, and while they all contain helpful techniques, tips, and rules of thumb, my biggest issue is being able to set aside all of the perfectionist noise of my brain and simply write words. Baty’s NaNo-ing guide gives me a pep talk every time I pick it up, and that’s been invaluable since I started taking my writing seriously.”

She also recommends: SELF-EDITING FOR FICTION WRITERS by Renni Browne and Dave King

self-editing

“Since I self-publish, I need as many checks and balances as I can manage on each manuscript, and this book is an excellent tool for revisions before actual edits.”

Raewyn recommends: THE FIRST FIVE PAGES: A WRITER’S GUIDE TO STAYING OUT OF THE REJECTION PILE by Noah Lukeman

First Five Pages

“It’s a practical little book, with some good end of chapter exercises to measure your writing against.”

Jessica recommends: THE ART OF WAR FOR WRITERS by James Scott Bell

ArtOfWarforwriters

“It’s very easy to get into and his writing is engaging and encouraging.”

She also recommends: WRITING IRRESISTIBLE KID LIT by Mary Kole

writing irresistible kid lit

“It really breaks down how the YA and MG market and what types of writing really sings for that market. It has great examples over lots of different YA and MG genres. I loved it. “

Finally, my recommendation is: HOW NOT TO WRITE A NOVEL by Sandra Newman and Howard Mittelmark

Hownottowriteanovel It is a hilarious book that is also an invaluable source of information about what NOT to do when you are trying to write a publishable novel.

What are YOUR favorite books on writing? Make sure to leave us a comment below!

EM Castellan

 

4 Responses to “Book Recommendations: Writing Craft”

  1. “On Writing” changed my life, and “Self-editing” has been really helpful. For inspiration, Annie Dillard’s “The Writing Life.” For word choice, F.M. Salter’s long out of print, “The Art of Writing.” For a bathroom or in-the-car read, Steven Pressfield’s, “The War of Art.”

  2. I’m ashamed, the oly one I read out of this list isOn Writing! I’m going to fill the gaps as soon as I can! Orson Scott Card’s How to write Fantasy and Sciece Fiction is very very good!

  3. Stephanie Scott Says:

    I think I need Self Editing for Fiction Writers because this is the millionth time I’ve seen it recommended lately. On Writing is a great book to start with, I recommend it all the time. I’ve seen that Mary Kole book rec’d a lot too.

    So glad I found your blog for the A to Z challenge! My posts are about Memorable Characters.


Leave a Reply

